Tags

, ,

RATING 5 STARS!

 

I don’t know how to live with you, but I have to try.  Don’t I? If you were to wake up and I’ve given up, just stopped living, you’d be so mad.  You’d kick my ass.  So I have to keep going. I have to pick myself up, and live.  I don’t know how I’ll do it, but I will.  For you.  For US. 

I love you, forever and always, 

Cade

I’m going to start off with OMG and wipe the tears from my eyes.  Jasinder Wilder touches on emotions I didn’t think I had while reading a story.  The continuance of the Ever and Caden Story continues with as much heartbreak as the first of the Trilogy, Forever & Always did.  The ending of Forever & Always left me breathless and shattered and the beginning of After Forever continues in that same moment and emotion. 

Cade broken, not just emotionally but physically.  The accident, Ever being in a coma and the news he receives from the Doctor soon after.  How Cade is even able to function with all of his loss and now this is beyond me.  What threw me off was the relationship that started between Eden and Cade.  Although I’m glad to finally get a little more of Ever’s twin Eden.  She’s such an important part of the story and I’m glad that she hasn’t been forgotten.  

My heart aches for both Cade and Eden, they have “lost” the single most important person in their lives and they find solace in each other.  Eden who should have found solace in her father learns again that their father can’t be strong enough for her or her sister.  Cade who has his grandparents still feels extremely alone.  I was unsure how I felt about Cade keeping his family at such a distance but I realized soon after that he was afraid of losing more after the loss of his parents. 

Eden, we saw a side of Eden we weren’t given in Forever and Always.  We had heard via Ever about Eden’s insecurities but they are far deeper than just jealousy and insecurities.  The loss of her mother and essentially the love from her father has made a huge hole in Eden’s life and I wasn’t surprised that she latched on to Caden after the accident.  At first I thought Good lord…girl get your act together but then I realized it was much deeper than that.  She needed to feel wanted, loved and needed.  She got that from Caden and Caden got the closeness he needed from Ever in Eden.  So complex, so confusing. 

““Look, Dad. Nothing has changed. Between you and me, and you and Ever, and us. Her being in a coma, it doesn’t change the fact that you fucking walked away from us—emotionally, and physically—with all the hours you worked. We didn’t want your goddamned money after Mom died, we wanted you. We didn’t have you, and when she fell in love with Cade and they decided to get married, you weren’t a factor. You haven’t been a factor in our lives in years, except as dollar signs, checks in the mail sent to Cranbrook.”

“Not a factor?” He scrubbed his face, wiped the sleeve of his pale blue dress shirt across his eyes. “

 

I was actually rooting for them to find some kind of love and to find peace in their relationship.  I actually wanted Eden and Caden to get together and be more than just a way to cope.  But they were both just so messed up.  I think deep down they both love each other but Caden’s love for Ever is much more. 

““Eden—”

“No.” She shook her head. “We’ve talked it in circles, Cade. Enough. No more. Not anymore. As of this moment, we never talk about it again. That’s how we deal with it.” She met my eyes, demanding an answer.

I let out a long breath. I couldn’t think of anything to say, so I just nodded. “

 

My heart still aches for Caden, I don’t know if this guy is just unlucky or what but the losses this guy gets is just heart wrenching.  For ever two steps forward he takes, it’s like he ends up taking 10 steps back.  As I read I had tears in my eyes and hoped that somehow he would find a silver lining, which is what I hoped he had found with Eden but then BAM, the story changes and I couldn’t help but sit on the edge of my seat wondering when the next shoe was going to fall. 

I’m hoping that in the 3rd trilogy we’ll get a little HEA for both Caden and Eden.  They both deserve so much love and happiness and I hope that this where it leads.  I have become completely invested in their happiness now that I’ve gone through the first two books and yes I want my HEA!  J 

This isn’t a love story but a story about heart break, loss and the emotional ups and downs that comes with the loss of loved ones.  It’s hard to stomach sometimes but it’s such a deep, soulful read that you can’t help but fall in love with all the characters and simply want the best for all of them. 

 

Image

 Check out Jasinda Wilder 

www.jasindawilder.com

as well as Facebook https://www.facebook.com/AuthorJasindaWilder

