Tags

, ,

Gemini (Gemini #1)
by Penelope Ward
17979909

I picked this book because the 2nd book was recommended to me by my sister and felt that if this was a series I needed to start from the beginning. Let me say that while it wasn’t one of my favorites it was a quick read and nice story. I found it hard to fall in love with the characters for a few reasons. They seemed shallow and the story just didn’t click for me.

SPOILER ALERT: Cedric is looking for Amanda’s twin sister who was given up for adoption to a different mother while Amanda went to another…and Amanda was his girlfriend who he cheated on, got pregnant (ok he didn’t know she was) and she caught up him cheating and got into a car accident on the way home. Her parents want to find her sister and he finds Allison working at a diner and its love at first sight?

Ok you dated her twin sister and said you were in love with her so it would be natural when you see her identical twin sister that you would instantly be attracted to her.. At least that is my understanding…You pursue her, date her, and hold this huge secret above her head which in my mind still makes no sense. Not only that..but their interaction seemed to be much more two teenagers falling in love then two adults. Their inner dialogue through me off and made them sound so young that I would forget that they were adults. Cedric a highly respected talent agent and Allison…I’m not even quite sure how old she was…she tended to act like she was either still in college (that was my impression until I found out about the twin sister who dated the older Cedric in college) or barely out of college.

The story just didn’t click for me…I didn’t fall in love with the characters at all. Yes there were some very tender moments, especially with the epilogue but I just didn’t connect with the characters. The only time I really connected was when Allison went and visited her sisters adoptive parents and met her brother. Which is why I’m interested in reading Jake Undone because I felt an instant connection to Jake in this part of the story.

If you are looking for a quick easy read this is it..but if you’re looking for a deep soulful story of two people who fall in love and connect..this isn’t it …

I have it 4 stars on Goodreads because I couldn’t bring myself to give it 3 stars and they don’t allow us to do 3.5 stars.

